Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle
Hall of Fame Inductees » 2009 Hall of Fame Inductees

2009 Hall of Fame Inductees

2009 Inductees to the SHS Alumni Hall of Fame

The SHS Alumni Hall of Fame was created to recognize exemplary SHS graduates who contribute significantly to their communities and/or professions, who achieve academic or professional excellence, and who positively promote Shelbyville Central Schools.

The 2009 recipients were:
John R. Hayes, M.D., Class of 1966

John received a B.A. in Zoology from IU in 1970 and his M.D. from the IU School of Medicine in 1973. He trained in Internal Medicine and Psychiatry at the Mayo Clinic and then joined the medical faculty at Texas A and M University. In 1981, he returned to Indiana as Director of Consultation and Liaison Psychiatry at IU School of Medicine. He was the President of the Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine, a Director on the American Board of Family Medicine, and a Distinguished Life Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association. Dr. Hayes moved to St. Vincent Hospital in Indianapolis in 1988, becoming its President by 1998. He then joined Eli Lilly, ultimately becoming Vice President for Lilly Research Laboratories in 2004. He served as Chairman of the Board of the Indiana Health Industry Forum and on the boards of many other companies and not-for-profit institutions, as well as authoring scientific publications and serving as visiting faculty at various medical institutions over the course of his career.
Daniel F. Hayes, M.D., Class of 1970

Dan’s SHS cross country and track experience propelled him toward becoming a NCAA Division I Cross Country All-American at Indiana University, where he was a Metz Scholar and awarded the Big Ten Medal for achievements in academics and athletics. He holds a B.A. in Biology and an M.S. in Biochemistry from IU. He also graduated from the IU School of Medicine with honors in 1979. After clinical training in Internal Medicine at Southwestern Medical School-Parkland, Dan trained in Medical Oncology at Harvard Medical School’s Dana Farber Cancer Institute. He joined the faculty and became Director of the Breast Evaluation Center. He later became Director of Breast Cancer Programs at Georgetown University’s Lombardi Cancer Center. Dan then joined the Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of Michigan School of Medicine, where he was recently installed as the Padnos Family Professor of Breast Oncology. Dr. Hayes is considered one of the top international leaders in breast cancer research and treatment. His accomplishments were honored by the American Society of Clinical Oncology in 2007, when he was named the inaugural recipient of the Gianni Bonadonna Breast Cancer Award. He has been recognized as a member of both America’s and Detroit’s Top Doctors.
John A. Hartnett, Jr., Class of 1976

As the 1976 Paul Cross Award recipient and senior class president, John Hartnett continually exuded enthusiasm for the Shelbyville community. John was on the Dean’s List for five semesters and received academic honors while earning his B.A. from Franklin College in 1980 and his M.A. from Butler University in 1993. His dedication to the Shelbyville community transitioned into his professional career as the Executive Director of the J. Kenneth Self Shelbyville Boys Club. In addition, John has served as the Indiana Boys and Girls Clubs Association Board of Directors, Shelby County Babe Ruth Board of Directors, the Shelby County Drug-Free Coalition, and the Franklin College “Leaders for Life” campaign committee. He has also served for the Shelby County United Fund Basketball Tournament, the Shelby Shootout, and other not-for-profit boards and committees. He was named the Shelbyville Optimist Club “Citizen of the Year” in 1990, and since 1995 has served as the Freshman Football Coach for the Golden Bears. To summarize the thoughts of so many others, "John's dedication and passion to 'Kids First' is an inspiration to all of us.”
Dr. John Hayes, Dr. Dan Hayes and John Hartnett, Jr.
Unveiling of 2009 Inductees to the SHS Alumni Hall of Fame on May 7, 2009